Driving robotics forward through collaboration, benchmarking and competition.

RoCKIn is an EU-funded project aiming to foster scientific progress and innovation in cognitive systems and robotics through the design and implementation of competitions. Additionally, we want to increase public awareness of the current state of the art in European robotics and demonstrate the innovation potential of robotics applications for solving societal challenges and securing the competitiveness of European industry in global markets.

To this end, RoCKin has developed two Challenges:

These Challenges are based around easy-to-communicate and convincing user stories, which catch the interest of both the general public and the scientific community. Of particular interest to the latter is openly solving scientific challenges and the opportunity to thoroughly assess, compare, and evaluate competing approaches. To allow this to happen, the Challenges are designed to meet the requirements of benchmarking procedures and good experimental methods. The integration of benchmarking technology with the competition concept is one of the main objectives of RoCKIn.

Latest News

Datasets from RoCKIn's Benchmarking activities now available

Datasets collected during RoCKIn competitions and events have now been made available to the robotics...


Videos of RoCKIn@Home and RoCKIn@Work tasks now available

Videos providing an introduction to the tasks and demonstrating what they involve are now available on the...


RoCKIn Camp 2015: Summary Report

Set amongst the rolling hills, vineyards and iconic Tuscan architecture of Peccioli in Italy, 42 participants...


the consortium

Advisory Board Members

XiaoPing Chen, University of Science and Technology of China, China
Jon Agirre Ibarbia, Tecnalia, Spain
Adam Jacoff, NIST, USA
Bruno Siciliano, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Bill Smart, Oregon State University, USA
Oskar von Stryk, Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Manuela Veloso, Carnegie-Mellon University, USA

Expert Board Members

Alessandro Saffiotti, Örebro University, Sweden
Herman Bruyninckx, University of Leuven, Belgium
Tijn van der Zant, Windesheim Flevoland University of Applied Science, The Netherlands